Art Start at the Swope Art Museum

At the Swope Art Museum, the space formerly known as the Halcyon Gallery (the corner of 7th and Ohio) has been turned into a studio and community space!

Art Start at the Swope Art Museum

One of the great features of this space is that it includes a preschool program (for ages 3-5) called Art Start. Art Start currently takes place on Tuesdays and is absolutely free. It used to be in the morning, but in January 2018 it moved to 1:00 p.m.

We went a few weeks ago; the kids listened to a story, did an art project, and then went on a scavenger hunt in the museum!

Art Start is my favorite place to be when my girls ask to make art, and I don’t feel like prepping or cleaning!

Art Start Preschool Program at the Swope Art Museum

Themes for First Friday, Second Saturday, and Art Start at the Swope Art Museum

March Art Start Themes

Tuesday, March 19, 1 pm

One & Other numbers with Alexander Calder

Tuesday, March 26, 1 pm

It looked like Spilt Milk, by Charles G. Shaw

April Art Start Themes

Tuesday, April 2, 1 pm

The Book of Mistakes, by Corina Luyken

Tuesday, April 9, 1 pm

Snail Trail: In Search of a Modern Masterpiece, by Joe Saxton

Tuesday, April 16, 1 pm

Up, Down & Other Opposites with Ellsworth Kelly (First Concepts with Fine Artists)

Tuesday, April 23, 1 pm

Splat, by Jon Burgman

Tuesday, April 30, 1 pm

Fussy Willikers: The Baby Sock Thief, by Ryan and Ashley McLemore

May Art Start Themes

Tuesday, May 7, 1 pm

Spots, by Diane Alber

Tuesday, May 14, 1 pm

My Very Silly Monster Book of Shapes: A Very Silly Monster way to learn all about shapes, by Tim Read

Tuesday, May 21, 1 pm

Art Start Party featuring The Dot, by Peter Reynolds

Tuesday, May 28, 1 pm

The Wonders of the color Wheel, by Charles Ghigna

Second Saturday Studio

1-3 pm: Artists of all ages will explore themes from special exhibitions and the Swope’s collection through a variety of creative endeavors. Free and open to the public.

Saturday, March 9

No blood will be shed here, get inspired by George Bellows: Drawn blood exhibition in our galleries and draw figures in action!

Saturday, April 13

Collage and group project highlighting the art of artist Kiel Fletcher showing in our galleries.

Saturday, May 11

Making 3 dimensional art inspired by the student exhibition

 

 

Tell your friends!
Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply